One of my new year’s resolution is accomplished!

I have to confess I used to have a certain degree of prejudice about old age.In my small way of thinking….I used to think that old age is time of redundancy and being dependent.So, Somehow I started believing that my life won’t stretch long enough for me to be called old.Anyway I am glad that this silly thought bubble of mine has busted and I have realized that being called old is a compliment.

OK….Let me just stop… before I keep rambling……and deviate from the story I wanted to share……Today,I met an old couple at the park.Actually I have seen them around for a while in the park but have never spoken to them.We just acknowledge each other by nodding at each other. This evening when I sat on a bench,they sat next to me.All three of us sat there quietly and stared at other people.Well, I didn’t really know them to start a conversation however they could have spoken to each other(Its an another thing I wanted to hear their voice,the accent of their language and then to think in my own twisted ways..analytically).

Then,all of a sudden the old woman turned towards me and said, “Have you ever traveled to Peru?”

It took me few seconds to comprehend the question and then answer, “Nope.”

“Okay.”

Then, we were back to the previous situation where no one spoke and we stared at other people in the park.I don’t know what was wrong with me.I could have taken it as a cue and started the conversation but some how I enjoyed the weirdness.

Now, the old man spoke to me, “Would you like to visit?”

“You mean…Peru?”

“Yes.”

“Why not” I said and looked at my shoes wondering where is this conversation going………

“We are planning to go to Peru this Summer.” the old lady said.

“Our daughter has been posted there.She is a doctor.” the lady continued.

“Oh,how nice.”I managed to respond.

“I had never thought,I have to make a passport at the age of 76.” the old woman said

The old man was still looking at other people or at least pretended he was…………………

“Well, I am not complaining that I have never been out of this country….”the old lady continued

I nodded.

“I like it here………..now I don’t want to make a passport.” she said softly.

I looked at her for some explanation.

“I mean…..all my life has been a plan..and I want to stick by it…………………..Now I don’t want to travel to some country whose name sounds like a fruit and live there and………………………”

The lady sighed and gave me a long warm stare.

“Do you have a passport?” she asked.

“yes I do.”

“and have you used it?”

“well,I have 24 stamps on my passport…so I reckon I am using it.” I responded.

My words were like some kind of trigger because hearing me……………the old man turned his attention towards his wife and started having an argument.They argued for long time….. quite passionately and intensely.

short life,…travel….dreams..aspirations…small world…..beautiful…love….children…life(were the words I heard faintly from their argument because at some point I had stopped listening and started to look at the people walking by in the park)……………………………….

P.S. One of my resolutions for the year was to engineer an argument between two old people…I guess I some how accomplished that today…

 Reference :https://twinklingpebbles.wordpress.com/2013/01/03/my-new-year-resolutions/

                 

One thought on “One of my new year’s resolution is accomplished!

Leave a Reply

